Loadtesting MobileCoin Blockchain

Hey @Josh and team,

Hope this finds everyone well. Since I have a certain amount of cloud resources left over from my last load testing gig, I thought maybe I can interest you in a load test from both a heterogenous and a homogenous server topography - free of charge. I have some experience doing load tests with a range of tools and I miss it quite a lot, since my current role as a CI/CD does not include load/perf testing.

Since this may be of interest to other people, I thought we might use this page as a staging area for ideas around load testing, both scripted and unscripted.

Since I have a machine supporting sgx, we could even generate traffic that normally would occur between servers on some scale, but I think I remember seeing SGX support on the Microsoft Azure Servers

Interesting test scenarios would involve:

1. “Normal” load ramp-ups

2. Erratic or malicious behavior by one or more clients generating:
    1.1. payments transactions
    1.2. payment requests

3. Erratic or malicious behavior by a validator node

4. fail-over tests / load-balancing tests

5. soak tests (particularly interesting, since infrastructure must be up without downtime I assume)

6. Deployment-testing under load

7. Load-spikes

If it is not a secret: How does the development team approach performance related risks? Can we capture outgoing traffic at all? Is it possible in theory to run multiple clients from the same IP? Do you intend to rely on the mob/crowd and a controlled growth of the community?

Cheers

Andrej

1 Like

Hi Andrej,

The short answer is that we approach performance testing with humility and caution. We definitely want to try to break the machine that we’ve built.

From a high level, I see two sort of vectors for breaking the system:

1. denial of service
  2. validation errors